hosts the digital edition of The Times, Britain’s oldest national daily newspaper, and its sister title The Sunday Times.

The Times was founded in 1785 by the editor and publisher John Walter I, “to record the principal occurrences of the times” for the service of the public. It was called the Daily Universal Register for the first three years, until it rebranded as The Times in 1788 – the first newspaper in the world to use the Times name.

In his first edition, John Walter I explained that “like a well-covered table, it should contain something suited to every palate” including politics, foreign affairs, matters of trade, legal trials, advertisements and “amusements”. In its tone and political neutrality, Walter reserved the right of the newspaper “to censure or applaud either [political party]” and to cover contending issues with respectful “fair argument”.

More than 200 years on, these founding principles hold true today. The Times has supported both New Labour and the Conservatives in recent times and supported Remain in the 2016 EU referendum.

The Sunday Times was founded in 1822 as a separate newspaper and has a history of innovation stretching from a female proprietor in 1887 and a female editor in 1894, through to pioneering the publication of large illustrations, book serialisations, separate sections and the first colour magazine supplement in 1962. The Sunday Times supported Leave in the 2016 EU referendum.

The Times and The Sunday Times were first held under common ownership by Lord Thomson in 1966 as Times Media Limited and were bought by Rupert Murdoch in 1981. TNL is now part of News UK. Both papers introduced digital subscriptions in 2010 to help ensure a sustainable future for their journalism.

The titles are currently the biggest selling quality print newspapers in the UK and in 2018 The Times was named Britain’s most trusted national newspaper by the Reuters Institute for Journalism at Oxford University.

Both The Times and The Sunday Times have landed some of the industry’s top awards for investigations, foreign reporting, magazine features and interviews. At the 2022 Press Club Awards The Sunday Times won Sunday newspaper of the year.


The Times and The Sunday Times take complaints about editorial content seriously. We are committed to abiding by the Independent Press Standards Organisation (“Ipso”) regulations and the Editors’ Code of Practice that Ipso enforces.

Requests for corrections or clarifications in The Times should be sent by email to To complain about a Sunday Times story, please fill out this form. Corrections, clarifications and adjudications are published regularly where warranted.

You can also contact Ipso for advice.


The Times & The Sunday Times are published by Times Media Limited, part of News UK & Ireland Ltd. Further information on News UK & Ireland Ltd can be found here.

News UK & Ireland is part of News Corp, a global diversified media business focused on creating and distributing content that educates, informs and inspires our customers. Further information on News Corp, including ownership information, can be found here.

Editor of The Times: Tony Gallagher

Editor of The Sunday Times: Ben Taylor

Deputy Editor of The Sunday Times: Krissi Murison

Times Media Group Managing Editor: Victoria Watson

Times Media Head of Digital: Edward Roussel

Times Media Legal Director: Pia Sarma

Times Media General Manager: Will Orr 

Chairman of Times Media Limited: John Witherow

EVP, Publisher, The Times & The Sunday Times: Chris Longcroft

Chief Executive, News UK & Ireland Ltd: Rebekah Brooks

Biographies of our management team can be found on the site here